The Best Of Gene Pitney (Compilation, 180g)


In stock

SKU: 5060397602268 Categories: ,

Format: LP
Cat No: CATLP226
Barcode: 5060397602268
Released: 1 June 2022

The Best Of Gene Pitney (Compilation, 180g)

Gene Pitney (1940–2006) was an American singer, songwriter, and musician known for his distinctive voice, emotive ballads, and versatility in various musical genres.

Pitney started his career as a songwriter, penning hits for other artists. One of his early successes was “He’s a Rebel,” which became a hit for The Crystals.

In the early 1960s, Gene Pitney embarked on a successful solo career as a singer. He recorded a string of hit songs, including “Town Without Pity” (1961), “The Man Who Shot Liberty Valance” (1962), and “Only Love Can Break a Heart” (1962).

Pitney was known for his versatility, comfortably moving between pop, rock, country, and ballads. His powerful and expressive voice allowed him to tackle a wide range of musical styles.

He collaborated with other artists, including Marc Almond on the hit “Something’s Gotten Hold of My Heart,” which became a chart-topper in the UK in 1989.

Throughout his career, Pitney received various awards and nominations, including Grammy nominations for his songwriting and performances.

Despite fluctuations in chart success during the latter part of the 1960s, Pitney continued to tour and record music. He experienced a career resurgence in the 1980s.

Gene Pitney passed away unexpectedly on April 5, 2006, while on tour in the UK. His death was attributed to a heart attack. He was posthumously inducted into the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame in 2002.

Gene Pitney’s impact on the music industry is marked by his ability to craft and perform emotionally resonant songs across genres. His distinctive voice and enduring contributions to popular music have left a lasting legacy.


1. Only Love Can Break A Heart
2. (The Man Who Shot) Liberty Valance
3. Every Breath I Take
4. Hello Mary Lou
5. Today’s Teardrops
6. Mr. Moon Mr. Cupid And I
7. If I Didn’t Have A Dime
8. Half Heaven Half Heartache

1. Town Without Pity
2. My Heart Your Heart
3. Louisiana Mama
4. (I Wanna) Love My Life Away
5. Dream For Sale
6. Take It Like A Man
7. A Greater Love
8. Donna Means Heartbreak

The Vinyl Store is an Independent Australian owned Online Vinyl Store business based in Sydney Australia.

We are music lovers and passionate about vinyl – for playing, collecting and admiring – and we appreciate your passion too.

* All our vinyl is brand new, sent to you exactly as we receive it from the record company.

* We love searching for limited edition, rare and coloured vinyl.

* Our catalogue is ever-expanding with new local and imported items every week.

* By being an Online Only Vinyl Store we strive to keep the prices as low as possible for our customers.

* Depiction of this product is a digital rendering and for illustrative purposes only. Actual product detailing may vary. Please note due to the custom process, each vinyl unit maybe slightly different in coloration.

* We Now Ship to International Customers and strongly encourage you insure your items against loss, theft or damage via our very affordable insurance product in check-out.

    Your cart is emptyReturn to Shop