Collapse (12", 33 ⅓ RPM, EP + MP3)


In stock

SKU: 801061942311 Category:

Format: EP + MP3
Cat No: WAP423
Barcode: 801061942311
Released: 14 September 2018

Collapse (12″, 33 ⅓ RPM, EP + MP3)

Includes a download card for the EP plus bonus track ‘Pthex’.

Aphex Twin aka “The Duke Of Rave and The God of Electronic Music” (depending which time of night it is) returns once again with the Collapse EP, a five tracker hailing from the underground. Its five tunes chew up notions of exhilaration with life-affirming abundance, high hats and sauntering arrangements, brain-scrambling noise and much much more, all cloaked in an absolutely jaw-clenching sleeve design from Weirdcore.

Since returning to the electronic shores with Syro way back when, Aphex Twin has answered many a million prayers from us, you and the masses who make up a certain online forum by gifting us with slab after slab of Braindancing excitement. While the recent years run of live shows have seen him slicing and dicing the freshest lazer-guided melodies from artists including Mark Fell & Gabor Lazar, Jlin, Kamixlo and Lanark Artefax, it would appear that the Collapse EP is the Aphex Twin spin on the post-genre, everything goes, electronic inter(net)underground… Basically this is an amazing and properly fresh record from one of the true pioneers of the hypnotic groove.

Make no mistake, Collapse EP hits on every single level imaginable, marking both new ways forward for every future style going, from footwork to electro-dub it even finds time to throw in some of the most stomach-churning darkside pads imaginable. Trust us, when they hit it’s like a time travelling Basil Kirchin or early 80’s NWW have gate crashed/crashed landed in 2018 only to discover the joys of electronic sequencing and bought themselves matching tanks as some sort of mad keyboard that they are using to fire beats into the truly never-ending possibilities of the studio within the digital age.

Where previous Aphex records have been like standing in a power station on acid, Collapse EP is what happens when you fall through the floor and land in the basement club, soundsystem going off and one of the very best there ever was/is/will be behind the decks.

Joy and happiness lies ahead, Collapse EP is here… fall into its wonderment!


1. T69 Collapse
2. 1st 44

1. MT1 t29r2
2. Abundance10edit [2 R8’s, FZ20m & A 909]

The Vinyl Store is an Independent Australian owned Online Vinyl Store business based in Sydney Australia.

We are music lovers and passionate about vinyl – for playing, collecting and admiring – and we appreciate your passion too.

* All our vinyl is brand new, sent to you exactly as we receive it from the record company.

* All our vinyl is in stock in our NSW warehouse.

* We love searching for limited edition, rare and coloured vinyl.

* Our catalogue is ever-expanding with new local and imported items every week.

* By being an Online Only Vinyl Store we strive to keep the prices as low as possible for our customers.

* Depiction of this product is a digital rendering and for illustrative purposes only. Actual product detailing may vary. Please note due to the custom process, each vinyl unit maybe slightly different in coloration.

* If we have not listed the tracks and release details please search on discogs.com using the barcode, catalogue number and release date.

* We Now Ship to International Customers.

* If you need more information regarding this Vinyl edition please email us @ [email protected]

* Please choose your record carefully as we do not offer exchanges for change of mind www.thevinylstore.com.au/returns/

    Your cart is emptyReturn to Shop